RSS

LEGEND OF THE GUARDIANS: THE OWLS OF GA’HOOLE – Chicken Soup

29 Sep

I had 3 options

a) Legend of the fist by Donnie Yen (Acc. to Jude, DON’T GO FO IT!)

b) The Hole (Another Horror movie. Gf didn’t wanna have a rough night so… left me with 3rd option)

c) LEGEND OF THE GUARDIANS: THE OWLS OF GA’HOOLE

Honestly, I had mixed feelings before watching the movie

One for instance was I thought it was gonna be a story of Harry Potters Owl, how he became Potters faithful Hotmail, Gmail delivery system.

Second, another “happy feet” story? Well, I liked the penguins but Owls don’t dance =P

Third… forgive me for saying this but….. I thought it would be another girl movie =P. Well, BLAME it on the poster! It wasn’t manly enough! =P Didn’t have  guns and grenades on the Owls hehe.

Anyway, the movie went beyond my expectation. I was glued to it from the start to the end.

The story begins with the introduction of an Owl family. Here we meet the protagonist of the movie, Soren, and his brother, Kludd, the antagonist to be.

Soren was a dreamer, who believed in the Legend of the Guardians, a mythical band of winged warriors, whereas Kludd was the opposite of him.

Kidnapped and forced to joined the pure-ones, Soren escapes only to find out that Kludd has decided to join the evil army.

The rest… I’ll leave that to you and watch =P

What did I get from this movie?

1- The responsibility to lead

“Mend the broken, Make strong the weak and without hesitation… vanquish all evil” -Soren

This kinda reminded me about Isaiah 61:1

1 The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners
,

Soren the owl, had no skills, he didn’t even know how to fly at first but that didn’t stop him from fulfilling his quest to look for the guardians. He may not be the strongest owl in the movie but he was willing and God likes people like that. Willing people.

There is a battle in the real world we live in.. may not be “fantasy looking” but it’s real. So whatcha gonna do about it?

2- Insecurity consequences

With Kludd, there was always the need to prove himself. He was jealous of Soren, who he feels gets the most attention and is just natural in whatever he does.

Banking in insecurities secretly paves another path that “according to us” seems right to take.  We are blinded by comparing ourselves with others, crippling our chances to improve what we are good at. Even our character.

3) Importance of family

If you watched the movie, “the Echidna” who knows everything mentions how important it is for the group of owls(and snake) to stick to together in their journey as a family. One cannot function without the other, they would need each other to the end.

This reminds me of the passage in the bible were paul mentions in Romans:

4Just as each of us has one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, 5so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.

We all need each other. We all have a role to play. We don’t just sit to warm the seats of the church but we have a responsibility to build and advance the Kingdom of God.

A lot of us feel contended with where we are. Some of you may think that “Well I already sing or usher in church… that should be enough right?” Well… do ask yourself again and again that question “if that is enough”?

I cannot answer that question for you but regardless of the part you play in church, do it well and be fruitful.

Another thought from this point is the importance of our immediate family. Our mom, dad, siblings.
Our relationship in church maybe fantastic but our relationship at home isn’t. We may treat the girl in church better than the sister you have at home, or treat your leaders with respect and your parents not at all.

Again, you might be saying “well Neil, you don’t know how my family is… so  &*#?!&!%$^&@!#… =P”

Well you’re right… I do not know your family but I do know we are to be the salt and light not only to our friends but also to our immediate family. So what you doing about it?

My family have seen the light only because I chose to shine. My family have tasted that the Lord is good only because I chose to be salty for Him.

The support of those around you… close to you… is important.

Well, I believe that there are a lot of chicken soup thoughts that others have picked up by watching this movie. These are mine to share.

I was kinda pumped up about the call in my life and pictured myself in a warriors outfit ready to fight the good fight =P (That should give you an idea on how much I enjoyed the movie)

Read more about the movie here

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 29, 2010 in Random Thoughts

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “LEGEND OF THE GUARDIANS: THE OWLS OF GA’HOOLE – Chicken Soup

  1. Aaroink

    September 29, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    I thought it was awesome too. Lotsa nuggets here and there. I wanna watch the 3D version. Oughta be mind blowing

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

